DPA Awards - Call for Nominations

DPA recognizes excellence within our community and honors this excellence through several awards. We invite members to review each award below and consider making a nomination. 

Distinguished Psychologist Award

At the Spring Social and Awards Banquet, DPA honors one of our own with the Distinguished Psychologist Award. This award recognizes excellence in contributions to the field of psychology in our area. We encourage members to nominate candidates for this award. A nomination should include a letter of nomination and supporting documentation of that person's accomplishments (e.g., curriculum vita).

Pam Blumenthal Community Service Award

The DPA Pam Blumenthal Community Service Award was created following the untimely death of Pam Blumenthal, PhD, an outstanding young psychologist and mental health advocate. Since the founding of this award in 1991, a number of deserving organizations serving children and young families have been recognized. DPA has also extended this honor to individuals and organizations providing outstanding support to the community.

Criteria for the Pam Blumenthal Community Service Award:

  • Local DFW person/ organization/ program
  • Dedication to welfare of children, families, or the community as a whole
  • Serves underserved /most vulnerable populations
  • Promotes the profession of psychology through their work/program
  • Works to promote the best interest of people in Texas

Student Dissertation Award

DPA is pleased to continue our Student Dissertation Award! A $500 check is presented to the recipient. Open to students enrolled in a psychology graduate program in the Dallas Metroplex.

Criteria for the Student Dissertation Award:

  • The student's program and proposal must have an emphasis in psychology
  • The student's dissertation chair must submit a letter of endorsement to accompany the proposal
  • No findings or results required for submission
  • Dissertation proposals must have been approved by doctoral committees between 03/31 (past year) and 03/31(current award year)